DUI License Suspension Salt Lake City, Utah
Warning Salt Lake City Drivers: If you have recently been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), your ability to drive is in jeopardy. Utah allows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to levy an administrative license suspension on those accused of drunk driving—even before being convicted of this offense. Therefore, any person who has been charged with DUI is urged to contact a qualified Utah defense attorney to fight this automatic suspension.
Utah's 10-Day License Suspension Appeal Deadline
Under Utah's DUI laws, drivers who either test over the legal limit on a breathalyzer or who refuse to take a blood alcohol content (BAC) test have only 10 days to submit a hearing request to the DMV—or face the automatic loss of their driving privileges. This is a hard deadline, so if you miss your window of opportunity, you will lose your chance to appeal and your license will be suspended.
Successfully appealing an administrative license suspension on your own can be quite difficult, unless you are familiar with the legal process. For this reason, leaving it to a DUI defense attorney is recommended. An attorney can ensure that the hearing request paperwork is completed properly and submitted on time. In addition, because the court requires proof that there was no probable cause for the arrest in order to overturn the license suspension, it's necessary to have an attorney on your side who can gather evidence and prepare your case for the DMV hearing.
License Suspension Penalties
The license penalty for DUI depends both on your number of prior drunk-driving offenses and whether you refused to take the breathalyzer test. For a first offense, your license could be suspended for 120 days. For a second or subsequent offense, the suspension period is two years. Refusing the breath test will result in a longer suspension—18 months for a first offense or three years for a second or third refusal.
Unlike many other states, individuals who lose their licenses for DUI in Utah are not eligible for a limited driving permit. This means you will be unable to drive to work or other important locations during the suspension period.
Hire a Salt Lake City DUI Defense Lawyer to Contest Your Suspension Today
As you can see, you have a lot to lose by not submitting a license appeal within 10 days of your DUI arrest. Fortunately, our attorneys are experienced with DMV matters, and will do everything they can to fight those loss of your license.